Congress all set to win in Karnataka Assembly election; CM concedes defeat

Battle for Karnataka Assembly.



Trends show that Congress is leading in more than half the number of seats in Karnataka. As of 12:10 pm Congress was leading in 125 seats, while the BJP was ahead in 69 seats. The JD(S) is leading in 24 seats and others in 6 seats A party needs at least 113 seats to form the government in the state. Meanwhile, in a major boost for the Congress party, state president D K Shivakumar swept Kanakapura with over 70 per cent votes. Another Congress leader Siddaramaiah won from the Hubballi Darwad seat.

Also read:  Tamil Nadu minister warns of legal action against those who cut tree in front of Jayalalithaa’s Kodanad bungalow

Some in the BJP have already begun “soul searching” for reasons to which it can attribute its performance.  In the run-up to the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, a win in Karnataka is crucial for both the BJP and Congress.

Also read:  COVID-19: India's tally over 82.29 lakh

Reacting the trends Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said, “We’ve not been able to make the mark. Once the results come we will do a detailed analysis. As a national party, we will not only analyse but also see what deficiencies and gaps were left at various levels. We take this result in our stride.”